Thread: Relief work - primary/junior

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Relief work - primary/junior

Hello everyone,

I have read recent posts about relief work in NZ at the high school level, but can anyone who is currently in NZ advise me on the opportunities for relief work at the primary/junior level?

I am a new teacher, and because of few opportunities in Canada, am planning to move to NZ. I have gotten my NZQA assessment, am waiting for provisional registration, and can qualify for the working holiday visa.

I have applied to schools on the ed. gazette site without luck. I am having doubts because I am making such a huge move for both me and my partner, and there is no guarantee of relief work..

Thanks!

It depends on where you live. I landed in Auckland a couple of years ago and started relief teaching the following week. I worked every single day for three months until I found a full time job. You shouldn't have any trouble finding work in the Auckland area, though I've heard other areas aren't as easy. Make sure you go and visit all of your local schools as soon as you arrive and let them know you are available, and you should be fine.
    Amy.

Hello, welcome, and the best of luck.

All primaries use relief teachers but obviously have their regulars, so best thing to do is to go into each school with your CV, introduce yourself to the Principal or DP in person, either at same time or make an appointment to see them. Then you have more of a chance of being called.

Good Luck!

I posted a similar question a month ago. I think times have changed a bit from the "I worked everyday" glory days. I'm currently in Auckland. I was hoping to land a permanent position as a HS history teacher, but did not have any luck.