Thread: Teaching on WHV

Default Teaching on WHV

Hello!

I have a few questions, hope someone can help/advise.

I am already in NZ on a Working holiday visa. (Sept 2011 - Sept 2012)
    I am a fully qualified primary teacher, Uk trained.

From what I can gather I need to have quals recognised by the NZQA and also register with teaching council.
    NZQA fee: $750
    TC fee: $300
    Is this correct?

As the process takes 4-6 weeks (if i apply to both simultainiously) is it worth all this for a one year WHV?

If I do have employment can I stay longer than one year, employer sponsored? do they do this for teaching?

Someone also told me if on a WHV you do not need to pay full TC registration....not sure about that.

Can I start applying for 2012 jobs while waiting for recognition?

Sorry for all the questions! I have been here 2 months and cannot find work. My partner is working full time so I am limited to locations. (North Shore based)

Thanks in advance
    Sandy

I can answer a few of the questions.

First, the fees are correct. To see if the rate is lower for a WHV, you could email the Teachers Council. They respond very quickly. You can't apply simultaneously so add a bit of time to your estimate. You have to have the NZQA done before you can apply to the teacher's council. You will also need a police certificate from Ireland for the teacher's council. Details here - http://www.teacherscouncil.govt.nz/o...heckosqual.stm

I don't know if you can extend your current visa but if you have employment as a teacher, you can apply for a work visa or even permanent residence as teachers are on the skill shortage list.

As for applying now, it won't hurt but some schools may not interview you until you have your certificate.

Thanks Millieandme.

I emailed the TC and they said: