Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: $60,000 family 4 kids

Default $60,000 family 4 kids

I am a recent mature graduate and have been offered 2 jobs in New Zealand, both paying $60,000 a year. One is in Christchurch and the other is in Te Awamutu near Hamilton. We have 4 young kids between 12 and 2. Preferably my wife would not have to work for the first few months until the kids got settled. We have virtually no savings to bring with us as I have been in college for the past few years.
    Is there any chance we could survive on this money, neither of us is working now so we are not living a life of luxury. We see this as our only chance of me getting a start for my career and that hopefully we will be able to afford a better standard of living in the future, saying that we don't want to live in a ******** or a bad part of town either.
    Would we be entitled to any benefits when we were there, I would be coming in on a talent visa so I am not sure what class of residency this would entitle me to.

Hello and welcome.

Here's a page about the NZ welfare system. It mentions the very basic allowances for shelter and per child that migrants are allowed during the first 24 months, but it doesn't mention what class of visa. http://www.immigration.co.nz/life-ne...ement-welfare/

http://www.workandincome.govt.nz/ind...-families.html This government site shows you some detail - you could contact them to ask specific questions if you can't find what you need on their various pages.

Hi JagerLeaves,

You sound in a similar position to us: initially my OH will look after our 3 children (4, 9 and 12) (helping them settle in to NZ routine) whilst I work: my salary is as yet unknown- but I think it will be $64000 minimum, $79000 max).

I would look at the housing cost in Christchurch and near Hamilton, because if you can rent somewhere nice for less then you will make some savings.

There is also this site that can help estimate credits etc.

IRD tax site