Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thinking about moving to NZ, any advice? :)

Default Thinking about moving to NZ, any advice? :)

Hi Guys,

OK, well firstly I’m new to the site and I decided to join as I’m looking for all sorts of information on New Zealand as I’m thinking about making a possible move out there from the UK.

Ever since I can remember I’ve always enjoyed the thought of moving to New Zealand for many reasons, the main one being that I have heard so many wonderful things. As many are aware, the current financial cloud hovering over Europe is not good, and it doesn’t appear to be shifting anytime soon. Therefore, I’ve recently considered making this ambition a reality, a chance to start a new life which I have desired for so long. I have no financial or family commitments (mortgages and children etc.), I’m currently single and I’m still in my mid-twenties.

At the moment I currently work in the construction industry doing anything I can lay my hands on. However, by trade I am a fully qualified carpenter where I have completed a three year apprenticeship gaining my level 2 and 3 qualifications. On top of that, I’m currently studying a bridging course (BTEC National) to a HNC in construction management. I’m not sure how much weight these qualifications hold out there, but I’m not too fused as I’m happy to turn my hand to anything.

I’ve never actually been to New Zealand before, so before making such a huge commitment I have set myself some goals to help me decide if this could be the right choice for me. Firstly, I’m planning on getting the money together to take a lengthy holiday out there next year so I can get a general feel for the place (people, cities and sites etc.). If that’s goes well, then my next idea was to apply for a working holiday visa and carrying out a ‘real life test’ if that’s what you want to call it, see what work opportunities are like and neighbourhoods.