Thread: teachers aide / Teaching assistant

Default teachers aide / Teaching assistant

Hi - we are hoping to come out next year and find work (have posted on another thread) then get visas once we have jobs.

I work part time as a teaching assistant in UK and have a level 2 qualification. At the expo we were told the teachers aides over there don't really need any qualifications.

Just wondered if anyone can back this up and tell me any more info - is it hard /easy to pick up a TA job in New Zealand?

Any info most appreciated

One of our customers at the ski shop had a special needs child and when I mentioned that I used to be a teaching asst in special needs she promptly tried to get me to apply for a job at her sons school. She seemed to imply that there is a bit of a shortage of teaching asst. with experience.

thanks for the reply Veronica
    I'm hoping it's not going to be hard to get a job once I arrive but need to see what people over there actually think!
    I have the option to do an extra course (following on from my NCFE level 2) in Special Needs - perhaps its worth me looking into it - even though the qualification doesn't apply in NZ (I think!)

Very easy - no you wont need qualifications.
    But be prepared to do much more "menial" tasks than you are used to.
    The pay is awful though!
    approx $10-$11 per hour.

Quote Originally Posted by Carol
    The pay is awful though!
    approx $10-$11 per hour.
    ok it's not great but I cannot think of many other jobs (other than temping) when you can guarantee to get school holidays off and working hrs to suit kids - I'll just have to make sure hubbie gets a good job (salary!!)

thanks carol

HI Vixxann,

I work as a teacher aide at a high school and get nearly $14 an hour term time only .

It works well with me as I can get my little ones to school then I start at 8.45am and finish at 2.45 to pick them up.