Thread: Schools Kapiti

Default Schools Kapiti

We hope to be in Kapiti by September. Intially in rented but hoping to buy something quite quickly.Company will pay for months accomodation and we're going to ask relocation company to find us something we can rent on a monthly basis. Our children will finish school year here - daughter 12 son 6. My son in particular doesn't like change so i want to avoid putting him in a school for a short while and then moving him again. Am i allowed to home-school until the start of the new school year in February ? I am a qualified primary school teacher. Also how does it work if you want a place in the final term ? Any reccomendations of great schools in Kapiti area please. Lots of questions -sorry. I was hoping to visit some schools on our visit this Easter unforunately we arrive just after schools break-up.

My wife is doing the primary school tour next week. Raumati Beach school has a very good reputation but has just started a catchment area, and Paraparaumu Beach and Raumati South are also supposedly good. My boy goes to Raumati South kindy which is excellent. Waikanae schools (esp. Kapanui) also have a good rep. To be honest they all seem pretty good - the only one we have had a feel for not being so great is Kapiti School (Pram) but we don't have any hard and fast evidence of this. Will probably know more next week.
    Senior schools (colleges) - heard good things about Paraparaumu College and not so good about Kapiti college (raumati) but again that's just what other parents have mentioned to us based on past experiences

we're going to ask relocation company to find us something we can rent on a monthly basis.