Thread: Provisional Registration (Teaching)does not lead to PR?

Default Provisional Registration (Teaching)does not lead to PR?

As a teacher, you can only get PR when you have full registration; as overseas-trained, you will have provisional registration and it will take you up to 2 years to qualify for an upgrade..............this is a quote from a post a while back, but is it still true?

I have just got Provisional Registration from the Teachers Council, so if I get a job offer is it right that I put in my EOI, hope to get ITA then would be offered work permit rather than PR?

Default I need the answer to this also

Gosh, isn't this grand?

I am waiting for the answer to this one as well.

My OH is a plumber and needs registration for PR but can't get registration without a job, license and an exam. Can't get a job without PR.

And I am a teacher. That doesn't seem to help us.

So as a teacher, the same thing?
    Last edited by Ashby; 11th August 2007 at 05:32 AM. Reason: forgot something

Quote Originally Posted by Carey View Post
    As a teacher, you can only get PR when you have full registration; as overseas-trained, you will have provisional registration and it will take you up to 2 years to qualify for an upgrade..............this is a quote from a post a while back, but is it still true?

I have just got Provisional Registration from the Teachers Council, so if I get a job offer is it right that I put in my EOI, hope to get ITA then would be offered work permit rather than PR?
    No, it's not true. You can only get provisional registration and I was granted PR on that. As a teacher you should have no trouble at all getting PR.

Thanks Willsken, that's a relief! I had noticed that Speckythecky got the next level up from Provisional: 'Subject to Confirmation' and wanted to check if prov. was the norm.
    How are you finding the process of working towards full registration?