Thread: Work permit - Christchurch

Default Work permit - Christchurch

I'm trying to establish what's involved in obtaining a work permit for a job in Christchurch (as a UK citizen on a tourist visa), and am getting slightly confusing info from the Immigration site. Under the Work to Residence scheme, it says, quote:

The Work to Residence category allows you to get a temporary work visa and/or permit as a step towards gaining permanent residence. Applicants may be qualified in occupations that are in demand in New Zealand, or may have exceptional talent in sports or the arts.
    [my italics]

'May'? What does 'may' mean? Is that like definitely should, or is this negotiable? I know my occupation isn't on the Skills Shortage List (I'm a travel editor) but it's in an industry (Creative) which is in demand. I know they have to have been unable to find anyone locally before hiring a furriner, but would think, given the nature of the job, that if my particular style suited them well enough that would be adequate. "We simply must have Mr Jezza. There's nobody else quite like him."

Now, as I understand it:

1) The company makes me a written offer of employment.

2) I trog off to the nearest Immigration office (is there one in Chch?) bearing this offer of employment, a chest X-Ray, bank statement and my UK police check. And my wallet.

3) Those nice boys and girls in Immigration give me a work permit that very afternoon. Or a few days later, at any rate.

Does this sound reasonable?

There's an immigration office in Crystal Plaza near Cathedral Square, easy to find as it's in the middle of the city business district in Christchurch.

I think that your prospective employer would need to be accredited by NZIS in order for you to get a work permit based on a job offer, I haven't had any experience in this so maybe someone else who has can offer more information.

Bearing in mind my information is about 3 yrs old now, but this is my two cents worth......