Thread: Cost of Living NZ vs UK

Default Cost of Living NZ vs UK

All

No doubt this is a topic that is discussed long and hard - but one that is always relevant.

My OH and I live in the UK, I have been made an offer from a company based in Wellington.

The point is that the offer is someway off my current package and would mean upto 35% decrease in base salary.

So, all you folk from the UK who have moved out to NZ - I would love to hear your comments around the costs of everyday product in comparison to the UK. I currently live in the Midlands.

Specifically, I'm interested in costs of Fuel and Energy, Food, Leisure (Cinema, Theater, Eating Out), Clothing (esp. Children's), Car and House prices - anything else thats important to you.

The HR bod looking after my application keeps telling me as an accountant I can not expect to earn close to what I earn in the UK partially because of the Cost of Living, partially strong £ in reference to the $ and differences in the recruitment market.

Thanks in advance.

John

Hi,
    This may help for starters
    http://www.enz.org/cost-of-living-in-new-zealand.HTML
    There are various threads on here if you type in cost of living in the search then that should give you an idea.

Kind regards

Dave and Caroline

There is alot of rumour that wages are about 2/3 of UK salary as cost of living is also 2/3.....believe this with a pinch of salt. While some things are loads cheaper, other things are way more expensive...depends on how you spend you money. If you have a look at many of the recent threads on this forum about costs of living etc, you will see that many people here are financially worse off due to lower salary, but it is compensated for by better lifestyle compared to UK. If that is what you are looking for then great, but if your move is purely financial, I would think again.