Thread: Worried about police check...

Unhappy Worried about police check...

Hi, I was wondering if there was anyone out there that has a criminal record that has either been granted PR or a work visa, or has even been refused? I have a criminal record, my husand doesn't.
    I was charged in Feb 2002 for assault with actual bodily harm, I was fined and given 18 months probabation. I was not sent to prison or anything like that. I have never been in trouble since...I am really worried that this is going to ruin our chances of moving to New Zealand. Any of your stories or advice would be really welcome. Thanks, Charity

This, I think, is the relevant section of the law, and it looks as if you're OK, BUT I'm not a lawyer, so check officially and see.

Section 7 (1) of the Immigration Act (URL at NZIS)

Under section 7(1) of the Immigration Act we will not grant you a visa or permit if:

• you’ve been convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for 5 years or more (this applies even if any of your offences have later been taken off the record),
    • in the past 10 years you were convicted and sentenced to imprisonment for 12 months or more,
    • currently, you have a removal order from New Zealand in force against you,
    • you’ve been deported from any country, including New Zealand,
    • you’ve been involved in terrorist activities, or belonged to or supported any organisation involved in terrorist activities,
    • it’s believed you’re likely to commit – or to assist others to commit – criminal or drug offences, or an act of terrorism, in New Zealand,
    • it’s believed you’re likely – due to any international circumstances – to be a danger to New Zealand’s security or public order, or
    • it’s believed you’re associated with an organisation or group that has criminal objectives or is engaged in criminal activities and for that (or any other) reason you are considered to be a threat to the public interest or public order of New Zealand.

Hi,