Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wattage questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Question Wattage questions

    Can I safely change the plug & use the following in NZ?

    My iron which says maximum 2400 watt

    My computer power lead that has a 5amp fuse in?

    I think that's it for now anyway
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4,455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgebulldog View Post
    Can I safely change the plug & use the following in NZ?

    My iron which says maximum 2400 watt

    My computer power lead that has a 5amp fuse in?

    I think that's it for now anyway
    Thank you
    Yes and Yes.

    Maximum load in NZ is 10A or 2400 Watts so as long as your electrical goods are 2400 Watts or less then you shouldn't have any problems.

    Ian

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Thanks Ian
    So it doesn't matter that our computer power lead has a 5 amp fuse in & when I change the plug it wont have anything in, I think OH said something about house is 10amp?! A bit worried it wont have a fuse & is only 5amp?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Auckland, from Edinburgh
    Posts
    300

    Default

    The amperage (or power - which is volts x amps) rating of an item is the maximum amount of current it should draw. In NZ, house circuits are rated at 10 amps (2400 watts) - if you try and draw more than this (i.e. plug in lots of big appliances into the one socket) - you'll trip the circuit breaker for that power circuit (or blow the fuse at the mains board in older houses). This is designed to stop you overloading the actual capacity of the mains cable. Plug a 5 amp utility into the socket and it'll only draw 5 amps - so you could safely plug two in without overloading it.

    In the UK the mains circuits are actually rated at 13 amps.

    Dougie

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Thanks Dougie but if I put a NZ plug on the lead so it no longer has a fuse is there a chance it could get a 10amp surge & blow my computer up?
    Sorry but I am a bit thick about this type of thing

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    87

    Default

    I've never seen a computer cable with a built-in fuse. Can you post a picture of the fuse you're referring to? Is it a laptop or desktop computer?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Ooops I hope I haven't confused things & goty it all wrong. We have a Dell laptop & in the power cable that you plug into the wall it has a 5 amp fuse in it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4,455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Georgebulldog View Post
    Ooops I hope I haven't confused things & goty it all wrong. We have a Dell laptop & in the power cable that you plug into the wall it has a 5 amp fuse in it
    Ok, I'm assuming that you mean that you still have a UK Plug on the end which is where the fuse is.

    If this is the case, then yes you can just replace the UK plug with a NZ version instead. You don't need to worry about there being no fuse as NZ plugs are not fused.

    It is recommended that you buy a surge protector for devices such as computer equipment, so if you are not happy with no fuse then you could buy one of these for peace of mind.

    Ian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    227

    Default

    If youíre worried itís not compulsory to change the plug, just use an adaptor that way you can keep the plug, thus keeping the protection of the 5amp fuse.
    Alternatively you could purchase a new power supply for the laptop from Dell in NZ, if they believe it requires a fuse it will have an integral one fitted. However I suspect it will actually turn out to be your UK power supply with a NZ plug on the end.
    Best Wishes
    James

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Thanks everyone, I think I'm just eager to get all my plugs over to NZ ones where possible
    Looks like I've a pile of ironing to do now Thanks alot all!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •