Thread: Question regarding NZQA Assessment Report

Default Question regarding NZQA Assessment Report

hi there! i received my ITA by email last thursday and i've been doing some reading about NZQA assessment report.

apparently, i need to have my qualifications assessed by NZQA to officially claim for the 50 points i self-assessed. from the mail i got, this is what i need:

• a New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) Qualifications Assessment Report stating that your qualification is comparable to a level 7 qualification majoring in computer science, information science or information technology.

i graduated from a university (in the philippines) that is listed from nz immigration site (http://www.immigration.govt.nz/nzis/...anual/7939.htm) which mentions that it occupies Level 7 of the Register and will therefore qualify for 50 points.

having said that, i checked from NZQA how to obtain International Assessment Qualifications and come up with these options.

1) Pre-assessment Resullt Application - http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/for-internat...ult/index.html

2) International Qualification Evaluation - http://www.nzqa.govt.nz/for-internat...nal/index.html

now my worry is which should i obtain (if both are valid). what is the right assessment that i need? the first option is only for immigration purposes (as skilled migrant), which fits my case and requires less documents, and costs less as well. the second option is more expensive and requires a lot of documents, but may be used for reasons other than immigration.

hoping somebody here can help me figure out.
    thanks much!
    Last edited by yossarian; 25th November 2007 at 05:55 PM.

We actually had both done. When we were doing our EOI we had the Pre-assessment done to see if OHs qualification would reach the requirement level.

When it came to submitting our ITA the pre-assessment wasn't enough they expected the Full assessment to be done.