Thread: Recognised Correspondence Courses

Default Recognised Correspondence Courses

Hi there

There's always so many friendly and knowledgable people on this forum. I'm hoping someone can help me out with this.

My wife and I are looking at leaving South Africa for NZ in 2010. Unfortunately as things stand at the moment, our one-year graphic design diplomas don't qualify for points on the EOI (Level 4, wrong subject). We'd like to get accepted without job offers, and we both need qualifications in order to claim enough points. As we are both working full time, we aren't able to study or attend classes during the day.

My question is, does anybody know of any correspondence courses in design or advertising that are recognised at Level 5 or above in NZ? We've got over 2 years until we go, so a 2-year diploma would be ideal (or we can complete an extra year once we arrive...). Ironically, we both have around 10 years experience in graphic design, and I have 5 years experience in a management role. Hopefully, this would make any kind of course easier, but first we have to find one.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
    Damon

While getting a job offer first may not be your preference, with the current shortage of 'good' Graphic Designers, this path may offer a convenient way for you to enter NZ without the additional time or hassle of further study.

Shawn

Thanks for the advice Shawn. However, my ideal goal would be to set up a design company as soon as possible, not look for employment. I've been running a company for the last 5 years and I don't know if I'm employable anymore. I imagine the first question a prospective employer would ask is what's to stop me from leaving their employment to go on my own...

That's why we would like to get in without the job offer. It may not be possible, and we'll have to go the job route. I'm just looking for options since we have some time.

Thanks again!
    Damon