Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Midwifery

Default Midwifery

I am a midwife working in Christchurch womens hospital. Been there for nearly 3 months now, noticed there are very few threads on midwifery. It is quite a different maternity system here as I already knew before coming but still is taking a bit of getting used to. I dont actually feel like a midwife anymore, more of an obstetric nurse! I dont feel I am being used to my full potential. But I am not here primarily for the job, but for lifestyle change and to get away from the buckling NHS. If there are any midwives looking to come out here and want a perspective on things feel free to contact! It would be a bit of a shock to come here not fully understanding what midwifery is here! Also pay/hours/holiday is not as good and it is not cheap to live here on New Zealand wages! Although we are ok. Be warned the midwifery council take a lot of money from you and then have the cheek to expect you to do extra study for more money and in your own time!

Thanks for the invitation to contact you as I was a bit surprised when I spoke with someone infused in the midwifery community there about the practise in NZ as compared to the US where I am currently. No women's healthcare oversight beyond the few weeks post-partum, no Well-Woman annual exams, no birth control guidance, no prescription rights (perhaps some within the context of pregnancy only), no lactation consulting beyond the first few weeks, etc. She felt that midwives in the US were asked to do too much and that to do so takes away from the specialty of midwifery whereas I felt it could only enhance it (staying in contact with women between babies by providing basic care).