Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tax refunds - money back from the govt!

Default Tax refunds - money back from the govt!

Something I just realised ( should have done earlier given I'm an accountant but never mind!):

If you are leaving the UK in April/ May /June, depending on your salary you will most likely be entitled to reclaim the PAYE tax you have paid from April 2008 onwards. The reason I say this is that you will have been paying PAYE in the months of April/ May / June as a % of full year tax due. If you leave in the first couple of months of the year you may well not have earned the full £5400 personal allowance in which case you can claim back all tax you have paid! Even if its more than thsi you will probably be able to calim back something.

In tersm of how you go about doing this I don't know yet - I'm going to look into it. There are company's out there that will do it for you but charge 10% commission - I'm sure that this is unnecessary and we can do it ourselves - I will keep you all posted when I find out.

Default Its Easy!

Further digging reveals its a very simple process - notes from HMRC website:

What should I do if I leave my job?
    It is important to get a form P45 from your employer. If you don't go to another job and don't start claiming unemployment benefit, you may be entitled to a tax repayment. After a month, ask for a repayment claim form P50 which you should complete and return to your Tax Office with your P45 Parts 2 and 3 if you have them. We give repayment claims top priority and try to make sure you get any refund you are due within 28 days.

So just download the P50 form from their website and sent it off with your P45 ( which will also have your tax office deatils on) and you may well get a nice amount back into your bank account.

so not a lot of point claiming if you're not leaving until October then?