Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long Term Skills Shortage query - can any one assist me?

Talking Long Term Skills Shortage query - can any one assist me?

Hi,

I am in the process of completing my EOI and am having difficulty interpreting the immigration requirements around the Long Term Skill shortage list, and am hoping by some miracle I am able to collect at least 140 points. In light of the info below, can anyone advise whether I would be able to collect additional points to get me over this threshold:

1) I have a BCompt degree in accounting & audit via University of South Africa (which will give me 50 points, as it is included on the list of universities)
    2) I am also a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) in the UK (this is a post graduate qualification, but is not listed on the Immigragtion website, so I am not sure whether I get any additional points for this). ACCA is a global organisation and has presence in NZ.
    3) I have at least 10 years accounting/audit experience

Upon inspecting the Long Term Skills shortage list, I noticed that NZ has a shortage of auditors, but according to the supporting comments, you need to be a holder of a relevant degree (which I have), but you also need to be a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants, (which is where I fall short)

In conclusion, I am a qualified accountant with the relevant audit experience, but having inspected the requirements on the Long Term Skills shortage list, it would appear that my qualifications are not suitable/adequate?

Does anyone have any advise?

Thank you in advance

Justin

just had a quick look and I think you have read it correctly, you need to be a member of the NZ organisation in order to claim the bonus points.

Worth getting in touch with that organisation and seeing what joining entails...

Dusk, thanks for your response.