Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Slow cookers.

Default Slow cookers.

I'm thinking of getting a slow cooker now its getting cold and I'm playing taxi to the kids most evenings. I have no experience of these so I'm looking for a recommendation. Are they good, what size would you recommend for a family of 4, are they economical to run any features worth looking out for?

Can you cook other things than stews/ mince type meals in them?

Thanks Debbie

I use mine loads - although I live on my own most of the time, I have a big family sized one, and just freeze what I don't eat at one meal.
    It's a fab time and money saving device; I can put everything into it in the morning, and come home to it all cooked and ready to eat.
    I do lots of stews, currys, chillis, pot roasts and even sweet dishes such as rice pudding. I'm not a fan of mince, so haven't ever done that.

No idea about the economies of it - but it's certainly cheaper to use a slow cooker for 7 hours than the oven for 2.
    Mine has an automatic feature, which is very handy, as I'm often out for long periods.

It's very similar to this one:
    http://www.noelleeming.co.nz/kitchen...prod99106.html

Quote Originally Posted by KerryS View Post

No idea about the economies of it - but it's certainly cheaper to use a slow cooker for 7 hours than the oven for 2.
    Thats what I thought but apparently not: found this on the web: