Thread: Skilled Migrant EOI - Do I meet the criteria?

Red face Skilled Migrant EOI - Do I meet the criteria?

Hi - Can anyone provide advice regards my situation below?

This is an email i sent to an immigration officer at New Zealand Immigration. Details are as follows:

I want to complete an EOI and am having difficulty interpreting the immigration requirements around the Long Term Skill shortage list, and am hoping by some miracle I am able to collect at least 140 points. In light of the info below, can you advise whether I would be able to collect additional points from my qualification to get me over this threshold:

1) I want to apply for a skilled migrant visa as a qualified auditor - see ANZSCO code 221213 but am not a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants
    2) I have a BCompt degree in accounting & audit via University of South Africa (which will give me 50 points, as it is included on the list of universities on your website)
    3) I am also a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) in the UK (this is a post graduate qualification, but is not listed on the Immigragtion website. I understand that i can get this qualification assessed by the NZQA, but this would not really benefit me, as it will only get me an extra 5 points - so i would still not get over the 140 point threshold). ACCA is a global accountancy body organisation and has presence in NZ. Their website is http://australia.accaglobal.com/
    4) I have at least 10 years accounting/audit experience and work for a blue chip bank in London UK

Upon inspecting the Long Term Skills shortage list, I noticed that NZ has a shortage of auditors, but according to the supporting comments, you need to be a holder of a relevant degree (which I have), but you also need to be a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants, (which is where I fall short)