Thread: Nursing jobs in New Zealand

Default Nursing jobs in New Zealand

I'm from Cape Town in South Africa and am waiting for the NZ Nursing Council to process my application for registration (they have all the paperwork in hand!) but in the meanwhile, I'd appreciate hearing from anyone who has applied for registered nurse jobs in New Zealand.

How keen are employers to offer jobs without a face to face interview?

Is there any significant benefit (to the candidate) to applying for jobs via an agency as opposed to applying privately? I'm assuming that an employer taking a agency candidate is going to have to pay commission, whereas taking a private applicant means no commission... any thoughts on this?

We are most interested in living in Wellington - I have over 25 years clinical and managerial experience in a wide range of nursing fields, most recently elder care and case management. I'm also a freelance writer/editor and would love to eventually work in this field, but my nursing qualification is the basis on which I am making this move. Any thoughts, ideas and suggestions would be great!! Thank you!!

Linda

Hi Linda

Firstly can I say, I don't think you'll have a problem securing a post as a nurse! There are always positions advertised all over NZ. If you're looking at the Wellington area, here is the DHB (District Health Board) site...

http://www.ccdhb.org.nz/

Search the careers/vacancy area, you'll see what I mean! Also, have you tried looking at some of the employment sites such as......

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Trade-me-jobs/index.htm

http://www.seek.co.nz/?tracking=sknz-netnav

You could also 'Google' nursing in NZ and trawl through anything that looks interesting or relevant. That's what I did.