Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low cost warehouse stores?

Default Low cost warehouse stores?

Here in Canada and the US, warehouse stores where you can buy large quantities of things for low low cost, are a HUGE thing. Just about everybody I know has a membership to Costco or Sam's Club.

I have a membership but don't use it for much. Honestly I mostly buy my toilet paper and cereal out there but everything else I buy at the normal grocery store, so it's not like it'll be something huge missing from my life..

Are there stores like this there? Is that what Pak n Save is?

Are they as used as they are here? Seems most of my friends go and buy HUGE quantities of things from Costco every week. I have no idea where they put it all...,their kitchens aren't that much bigger than mine.

So I was curious as to whether the love of warehouse stores was as big in NZ or not? Do you shop at one?

Speaking as a non NZ resident, I've not really seen or heard of them in NZ.
    Pac'n'Save is a grocery store that likes you you to bag your own groceries kind of like Food for Less in the States. (except cleaner!) There was a place in Welly called Moore Wilson that reminded me a bit of Costco but was more like a Smart and Final (if you know those?) in that they had a lot of restaurant-oriented food and kitchenware. Also MW didn't seem any cheaper than the grocery store for bulk items.
    I'm also curious if there are warehouse-style stores in NZ. My impression though is that if you see a bargain at the grocery store you buy what you can. Remember though that refrigerators tend to be much smaller in NZ so if it's perishable it might be hard to stock up on it!

if you're taliking about shopping at 'stores with concrete floors', the probably Pak n Save and (unsurprisingly) The Warehouse will be the closest equivalents in NZ.

I soooooo miss Costco (pizzas, pastries, books and cheap goodies etc) it's the shop I miss the most to be honest.