Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tents

Smile Tents

What kind of tent would you recommend for a family of 5, who intend to use it occasionally?

Keeping in mind I have had no camping experience since my days in the Brownies.

Did you buy new or second hand?

Cheers

Tia

We bought a tent from KMart when it was on sale over winter, haven't used it camping yet but have practiced putting it up in the garden

We had a frame tent in the UK which was great (got it second hand for GBP80) cause it meant that OH didn't have to permanently bend over!! It took ages to put up though, that was the only down side. Our new tent is smiliar to the frame tent but much easier to put up. Dome tents are probably the easiest and quickest to put up, but maybe not so comfortable for someone tall. For a family of 5 I would recommend getting at least an 8 person tent for comfort and space (and I am talking from experience here) You want somewhere to store luggage etc - without having to leave everything in the car.

Thats my 2 cents HTH

Debs

Ohhh, I hadn't thought of that Debs, getting a larger one than needed for luggage and stuff - we're currently trawling TradeMe for one (used or new, don't care) - and were looking at 4 man ones (well, 2 dogs and 2 people!) - think I'll up the ante now!

When they say "8-person tent" they mean to sleep, with NO room for anything else. So get at least a 10-person tent. There are 3 of us and we have a 6-person tent. We can keep our dry food inside, fold-up chairs when we go walkies etc.

Work out what you want from the tent and then go from there. Do you want to sleep in the same space as the boys, or do you want a tent that's divided into 'rooms'?
    My main criteria is that I have to be able to stand inside, as I hate trying to put on trousers whilst wriggling about on the ground.