Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Professor's salary in NZ

Default Professor's salary in NZ

If you get a PhD from Auckland or Otago in Business (Marketing or Information Science), what would be the starting salary to teach in the university level in NZ?

Do you know if a PhD from one of those universities is recognized in Australia? I have visited many faculty websites of many universities in Australia and I have yet to find a professor who got his/her PhD in NZ.

Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by np2nz View Post
    If you get a PhD from Auckland or Otago in Business (Marketing or Information Science), what would be the starting salary to teach in the university level in NZ?

Do you know if a PhD from one of those universities is recognized in Australia? I have visited many faculty websites of many universities in Australia and I have yet to find a professor who got his/her PhD in NZ.

Thanks.
    I'm not an expert, but this page should help: http://www.aus.ac.nz/Industrial/academicsalaries.asp

As for the PhD being recognised, as long as the university is internationally accredited (which I believe NZ universities are) then the qualification is ok. One of the benefits of a doctorate is that it is one of the most transferable qualifications around the globe.

As long as your PhD is not from one of those dodgy buy-online universities there shouldn't be a problem really.

Quote Originally Posted by welsh_italian View Post
    I can't comment on the other universities, but the ones for the University of Canterbury are a bit out of date. THeir salaries now range from $50,949 for a beginning assistant lecturer to more than $151,500 for an experienced distinguished professor.

Default Thanks

Thanks Welsh and Tony for your time and suggestions. Assistant Lecturer, is that what you start with when you are a recent PhD graduate? Normally, How long does it take to become an experienced distinguished professor?