Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working for UK company from NZ

Default Working for UK company from NZ

Hi everyone,

I am currently a software engineer based in the UK, and I am planning the move to NZ with my partner who is the Primary Applicant on our ITA.

My current boss is aware of the planned move, and would like to retain me. As such he has offered to employ me, as a contractor, working from home via the internet, albeit 12 time zones away. So far, so good!

Can anyone advise whether it will be legal for me to do this from a tax point of view? Who do I ask and what is involved?

Thanks

Allen

I'd be interested in this, I may be in exactly the same situation. I was thinking more of going down the setting up a company and selling yourself back to your old employer. Could you then get tax breaks for paying for things like your office (a room in your house), internet line etc.

I think if you do a search you may unearth some info on this subject, there have been posts on it but under what wording??? I do know of quite a few people have done this/are doing this so its possible,just needs sorting.

Quote Originally Posted by lehman View Post
    Hi everyone,

I am currently a software engineer based in the UK, and I am planning the move to NZ with my partner who is the Primary Applicant on our ITA.

My current boss is aware of the planned move, and would like to retain me. As such he has offered to employ me, as a contractor, working from home via the internet, albeit 12 time zones away. So far, so good!

Can anyone advise whether it will be legal for me to do this from a tax point of view? Who do I ask and what is involved?

Thanks

Allen
    Hi and welcome to the forum.

You can work from home in NZ whilst providing services in the UK.

Any income that you derive from work in the UK will be liable to tax in the UK.

NZ IRD will also be interested in your world wide income so will also want to know about the income from the UK.