Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I want to do a completely different job

Default I want to do a completely different job

Hi, I'm a teacher but want to do something completely different. Has anybody completely changed their job since coming to NZ? How did you do it?

I've always loved messing with things electrical and have become very interested in Green Technology - solar, wind etc. I have no qualifictations or experience in this field (other than as a hobby) but would love to break into this area somehow. Can anybody give this dreamer any advice? Or should I just stick to what I know?

I wont be coming to NZ with that much money; probably $4-600,000 maximum, and a good proportion of that will be going on a house once I get there. I will need an income but as long as it covers the bills Im not fussed about how much I will make.

So what do you recon? I'd be sincerely grateful for any thoughts on this, i've been pondering this on my own for a while now.

Ian

Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Having been a teacher, I sympathize with the wish to change tracks. I got as far as diversifying into private tuition and other freelance sidelines, but that's in the UK, and you'll have the additional problem of the need for a visa. Unless you manage to get PR with no strings (no 18a) - then you could take any job you can get. Or if you go to NZ on a holiday visa and get a job offer that would entitle you to change that for a work visa.