Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: IT professional with a HND..

Default IT professional with a HND..

Hello All,

I'm starting the process of applying for a Work to Residence visa from the UK, but I've hit what looks like a brick wall. Hope someone out there can help..

I'm an experienced IT programme manager with over 15 years experience of working the UK Financial sector. Unfortunately my IT university qualification is a HND not a degree - so despite IT project management being on the Long Term Skills Shortage list, it does not qualify me to apply.

I've also got a tentative offer of employment from an Auckland consultancy, but they are a small company and not on the recognised list of employers.

Has anyone been in my situation? ..I really don't want to go back to University!

I'm sure you'll get some suggestions when NZ wakes up.

In the meantime, hello and welcome.

Hi and welcome! How many points do you qualify for w/o bonus points?
    Finding employment before hand is optimal, but sometimes a bit tricky. Many have come to NZ on a visitor's visa and obtained employment then applied. Keep in mind though that seeking employment even while in NZ and with the needed experience can still take 3 months or more. (On the other hand many on here have landed jobs while overseas or within weeks of arrival, just giving the "typical" scenario)
    Good Luck!

Hi there - OH was in IT with lots of experience but didn't have a degree. However he had a HNC in a different subject (building). He got this assessed by NZQA and they assessed it as a level 5 which was enough to get 50 points for a "basic recognized qualification". I don't know if the rules have changed since we got PR in 2007 but it might be something to consider.

If you want to see how we completed our EOI go to our blog and follow the link to EOI.

HTH.

Hi