Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Teachers, has anyone had a problem getting PR with an LTR position

Default Teachers, has anyone had a problem getting PR with an LTR position

I start my new teaching job on the 27th and it is currently a fixed-term Long Term Relief position for the remainder of the year, to end on 11 December. In reality it is a permanent position but because I am a beginning teacher they hired me as fixed-term so the can try me out. I called up immigration and was told this was not a problem, but I want to know if anyone else out there has experience with this situation and how it turned out for you. My EOI was selected today and I hope to have the ITA returned to them by the end of May.

There is also a possibility the position won't be LTR for long. The person I am replacing happens to be the union rep and he told me the principal was committing a huge violation of union rules. The PPTA could force the principal to make it a permanent position but I don't want to get straight into a fight with a new boss unless the position being LTR jeopardized my getting PR. What do you think?

No idea but would like to know the answer just incase

Pretty sure the position has to be permanent for PR but presumedly you would be offered a working visa and then could go for PR once the job was made permanent?

Waiting isn't an option for me, I already have a work visa, I need to submit my ITA by June so that I don't have to do a medical exam again.

I'm pretty sure I heard on here that you need a new medical when you apply for PR unless you've had one in the past year? But then I could be completely wrong and I'm sure someone will be along to correct me.