Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Environmental Consultants

Default Environmental Consultants

Hi all,

My partner and I are looking to move to NZ in two or three years time. I work as an Environmental Consultant in the UK, dealing in the investigation and remediation of contaminated land. Ideally I'd want to work in the same/similar sector over there, but I'm not sure of the likelihood of me getting this type of work. Does anyone have any similar experiences/tips? My background is a BSc in Environmental Geology.

Cheers

Charlie
    Last edited by Pickle Lily; 13th July 2009 at 08:46 PM.

I don't know an answer for you, but welcome.

I know someone that did that with GHD. (They are a big consultants over there, nothing to do with the 'big hair' company over here)

FIrst thing to do is check the LTSSL to see if enviro is on there, and then make sure your qualifications count. If not then get working on that.

Most big engineering companies seem to be focussed on Aukland, but ChCh also seems to be pretty well populated for opportunities.

Not sure if Beca has anything, I've spoken to them and liked what I heard about the company.

Arrow Ecological Consultancy

Hi Charlie,

I chanced upon this recent job posting by a New Zealand ecological consultancy and wonder if it may be somewhat in the nature of the career you are seeking in NZ?

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Trade-me-jo...htm?key=824138

Hope this may be useful to you!

Wow, thank you for replying so quick.

JandM - Thank you!

Duncan74 - Thanks for the tips, I shall investigate those companies.

Leo - Cheers for that, but alas it is not my field of expertise. There are so many different environmental jobs out there that it is hard to narrow down the search.