Thread: The Qualifications Conundrum

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Manks is offline Serial procrastinator and general busybody

Default The Qualifications Conundrum

Right, we're not even at the stage of completing our EOI for the Skilled Migrant category yet, but I want to straighten this out in my head first.

I have looked at the NZQA list of qualifications exempt from assessment, so I guess that means that they automatically give you the bonus points? I have a BSc (Hons), a Postgrad Diploma and an MSc.

From what I can figure out, my BSc (hons) is exempt because it was from Brunel University, which is an exempt institution, and any Bachelor (Honours) degree from there is exempt.

My MSc is in Corporate Communication. It is from Leeds Met University, which is also an exempt institution, but I can't tell if this particular Masters is exempt or not.

My Postgrad Diploma will not be exempt.

Now, if I include all of my qualifications on my EOI and my MSc is not exempt, will they want it assessed by the NZQA? Or, seeing as it is only worth 5 points, can I just ask them to use the points from my BSc (Hons) to save time?

Thanks in advance.

I will throw an answer up here from what I think is correct and hopefully someone else will come along and give you more/better info. (just seeding )

If you have a post grad diploma and you want to count it as a qualification (or use it in NZ), you will have to send to NZQA.
    If you don't have any use for it, you won't.
    If you do send it, you can send all 3 for one price. They will assess multiple qualifications at one time (I forget how many but someone else knows I am sure)
    We counted all the points on our EOI but we had to prove it on the ITA. In fact, we sent off OH's qualifications that needed assessing at the same time as we submitted our EOI. We had the successful assessment completed before the ITA went in though.