Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 3 year degree

Question 3 year degree

Hi yall,

When i graduate I will have a Ba in Primary education with QTS it is a three year course. Is this enough to teach primary in new zealand. i read tht although 2 years experience is prefered it is not essential. Just from the qualification point of view is a three year degree in primary education enough? Something else I read said that in NZ the degrees are 4 year for primary ed.

I dont want to send off all the stuff and pay the fee just to be told my degree isnt enough to teach in NZ!

Nat

hi Nat, someone else may be able to help further, but the skills shortage list seems to say

New Zealand registration AND three years relevant teaching experience

I had found an email someone had posted from teachnz saying that they accept nqts from uk. Was just wondering if my degree would be enough of a degree. Thanks sophie.

You could contact them and ask about your own specific qualification, to set your mind at rest one way or the other.

my teaching degree that was accepted by NZQA and NZTC was a 3 year B.Ed but also second what Sophiebd says about minimum 3 yrs experience.

think that it is GTP that NZ struggle with but think that if you can provide evidence of experience in support they are happier

Details are on ANZSCO list of skills

have read that if an overseas student does a teaching degree in NZ then they can apply for NZ jobs but haven't read about overseas NQTs being able to

check with NZTC what they will accept before you pay for anything

Thanks guys. X

I found the post that made me think that you could get over as an NQT

http://www.enz.org/forum/archive/index.php/t-24602.html

Funny thing is both you sophie and you teadrinker are on the post!

I've emailed the teachers council myself now so hopefully will have it cleared up. Its horrble to think that I might have to wait three whole years longer to do this! Oh well good things come to those who wait.