Thread: EOI - IT Qualification

Default EOI - IT Qualification

I am currently completing my EOI but I am unsure if my degree falls under the Long Term Skill Shortage List or Absolute Skills shortage. I have a Bsc (Hons) Business Information Technology. My university is on the recognised list but I want to know if my degree fulfills the criteria of;

Degree-level (Level 7) qualification majoring in computer science, information science or information technology AND three years of relevant work experience

Does Business IT count as "majoring" in information technology? I have the sufficient years of relevant work experience (8 years+). If so can I claim for both Long Term and Absolute Skills shortage? Thanks in advance.

The one that will do you the most good on the EOI is the LTSSL. It's good for bonus points. The ISSl is good IF you have a job offer, it entitles you to a work permit.
    From your description, it sounds like the LTSSL; if you are in a comparable labor market then you are entitled to education points plus bonus points.

Not sure about the level 7, it will most probably be, if it is three years and 100% if four years.

Regarding Informatio technology: Absolutely yes as your degree clearly states the word Information Technology, mine states as Information Syatems and Technology and NZIS were perfectly ok with that.

Thanks for the replies. The LTSSL sounds the best for my EOI. With regards to bonus points, how does this work? I have identified my most relevant work experience (3 years to present as Data Manager) as falling under the LTSSL category of 262111 DATABASE ADMINISTRATOR. Are points based on number of years of experience?

Just looking up this now.