Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Long Should "Verification" Take?

Default How Long Should "Verification" Take?

Lodged my PR application on 19 May with London Branch. In reply to a couple of very polite follow-up queries, finally received a message on 19 November from my CO that my application was "still undergoing verification," and that she'd contact me if she needed any further information (this reply was originally sent on 29 October to an incorrect e-mail address -- doesn't their e-mail program flag unsuccessful delivery attempts?)

What in the world could they be verifying that's taking so long? I was prepared for a medical question or two (previously undiagnosed minor condition showed up on the medical), but I haven't been asked for any additional information. Police certs were clear, I've 20+ years of relevant experience (and the individuals who wrote verifying letters haven't been contacted), have a degree from a recognized institution, and am a native of an English-speaking country.

So, I'm baffled at the delay. I'd basically suspended my job search, expecting to have a decision by now. Quite a few tempting vacancies are open at the moment, but I fear that if I tell potential employers that there appears to be some sort of issue with my PR application, it'd be a waste of time even applying.

Anyone experience similar silent treatment?

My guess is that things of yours are still sitting in the CO's in-tray waiting their turn. As you're not aware of any areas of your life where there would be issues, it's more likely that her work has backed up than that she is assiduously verifying anything all this time. As with any bureaucracy, yes, lots of forumites get to wondering what has happened to their case, it takes as long as it takes, and there's not really any comeback. Sympathies.

After searching the forum for something that could help us in our situation, I found this thread, that describes almost the same situation that we are in at the moment.