Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Does Your Front Loading Washing Machine Smell?

Default Does Your Front Loading Washing Machine Smell?

Can anyone give me some insight if your washing machine smells? Particularly the front loading type? I've been Googling and came across this report about the hassles (or extra maintenance) required for front loaders in controlling bacteria and mould growth. (link)

I know the argument about front loaders is they use less water. My argument is factoring the clean cycle + costs to buy specific front loader detergents & cleaners + your time to clean the seals. Is this all really worth it just for the sakes of saving some water? It appears the older top loading washing machines have less maintenance.

What about the reliability of either types?

BQ

I've been using front-loaders for 25+ years, and none of them have ever smelled or become mouldy, and I've never had to clean the seals either. I do check the seals now and again as my husband has a habit of leaving coins, nails and all other sorts of bits and pieces in his pockets, so I check the seals to make sure there isn't anything trapped in them. I prefer front-loaders to top-loaders because I have found that they get clothes cleaner, and that they are gentler on the clothes, but then I've never had a brand-new top-loader, so I'm probably comparing apples to oranges.

I've been using front-loaders for 25+ years, and none of them have ever smelled or become mouldy, and I've never had to clean the seals either. I do check the seals now and again as my husband has a habit of leaving coins, nails and all other sorts of bits and pieces in his pockets, so I check the seals to make sure there isn't anything trapped in them.
    Same here, exactly.