Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Degree from UK but studied in home country. Need assessment?

Default Degree from UK but studied in home country. Need assessment?

I wonder if anyone is in this same situation.

I studied my degree course in a Malaysian private college, but the degree is issued by a UK university. The lingo used is a 3+0 programme (study locally but obtain a foreign degree).

Course structure and content is the same - and the degree/transcript is issued by the UK university itself with no indication that I studied in Malaysia.

Now, that UK uni is listed under the exemption list, but if you notice the notice after the first table, it reads:
    If the courses leading to the award of one the qualifications above were taken outside of the United Kingdom, please refer to the NZQA for assessment.
    Does my situation above fit the description? Would I need a full assessment from NZQA?

I randomly polled a few other countries' list (Australia & US specifically) and they didn't have this special note. Why single out UK universities? The way I see it - NZ$800 (factoring in courier fees) is a STEEP price to pay to validate a degree which is equivalent to what I would get if I studied in UK.

So I'm wondering if anyone has encountered this situation themselves and what they did about it.

Thanks!

Happy Lunar New Year to all who are celebrating!

The wording seems pretty clear to me. I had to get assessed as I had a MEng, and not a BEng or MSc both of which would have been fine from the named university, so they are pretty strict on the interpretation. Emailing NZIS and asking will get you the definitive answer.

As for why the UK list has the exemption but others don't, I don't know. I wonder if it could be to do with the way that the system works in other countries (ie can you get degrees issued without local study, and if so do those unis appear on the exempt list)?