Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Standard of living in NZ vs UK

Default Standard of living in NZ vs UK

Hi,

My husband and I are looking to move to Nelson next year. He is a maths teacher in a secondary school, and I am a doctor (GP). We have no kids, or intentions

We have read loads of really mixed reports about the cost of living in NZ - some people have said they're much worse off than they were in the UK, but others say they have a reasonably similar standard of living, with some things being more expensive but others much cheaper to balance things out. We've found all the info quite hard to pick through, as obviously people who are posting have a wide variety of occupations/incomes and are coming from different places.

Can anyone in a similar position to us share their experiences?

Thanks, Gem.

This is a really subjective issue and hard to answer. I think we are financially worse off in Auckland than we would be in the UK. But some of that is the cost of moving. As a GP your income will be much higher than average.

I've done a bit of searching for average NZ salaries/household incomes but haven't found much of use- need someone with the knowledge for that. The figure that springs to mind is 25K outside of Auckland and 45K in Auckland. There is no way we could live on that. I think food and household bills are expensive too. I believe average house prices are something like 9x average incomes, which is worse than the UK.

But before I get eaten alive.... There is a difference between income and quality of life and I am only commenting on one.

Thumbs up Better

Hi Gem
    I have come to NZ from the NHS and can say my standard of living is much better here.
    My work is much less stressful (mental health nurse) and I now have a good work/life balance.