Thread: mortgage broker vs banks?

Default mortgage broker vs banks?

hi there

my husband and i are looking into buying our first home and obviously, we are complete noobs at this. is it easier to deal with a mortgage broker (and i learned they do not charge us for their time) or is it better going to shop around banks?

is there a website about mortgages which would make my life easier? looking at different websites about mortgages/home loans/buying vs renting is making my head spin!

thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Jalapenocheese View Post
    hi there

my husband and i are looking into buying our first home and obviously, we are complete noobs at this. is it easier to deal with a mortgage broker (and i learned they do not charge us for their time) or is it better going to shop around banks?

is there a website about mortgages which would make my life easier? looking at different websites about mortgages/home loans/buying vs renting is making my head spin!

thanks.
    Hi there, I am an independent mortgage consultant in the UK and have just been out to NZ with my family filming Wanted Down Under with the bbc, part of which was time spent as work experience with a broker in Chch. Speaking with my professional hat on, I think that it is always worth going with a broker but check out their fees and charges prior to discussing the mortgage.

I found that they normally tend to deal with the mortgage and not the associated protection products that go hand in hand with it. In the UK your broker would arrange everything for you.

Ensure that they are able to offer you a choice of products that are a representation of the whole market. Don't be afraid to ask about the commission that the broker will receive from the lender as this will normally be how they get paid.

Banks will only be able to tell you about their own range of products and unless you want to visit every bank on the high street you will not get a true idea of what options are available to you.