Thread: Plumbing enquiry - new to the process (Re: NZQA etc)

Default Plumbing enquiry - new to the process (Re: NZQA etc)

Hello,

I am a self employed plumber here in London and I am seriously looking into moving to New Zealand. I hear there are various ways of been accpeted or applying to New Zealand and I may have to have my qualification accessed by NZQA. If they do not recognise my qualification does this mean I must or have to be accessed in the UK or in New Zealand? I am also very aware that NZ plumbing can is far different to ours here and I am worried about possibly not even passing their tests? I may have my plumbing qualifications though my plumbing skills and knowledge has become stream lined somewhat here ie: not very broad and the grey matter may have gone to pot if I start to trawl for my knowledge.

Next quick question is, I have just paid for a full accessment by a visa agency which I feel will highlight where or how I can apply to move to New Zealand. Does anyone know whether or not it would be fesible to go for a holiday and canvass plumbing companies in the hope of a job offer? I understand the company would have to sponsor me and meet certain requirements.

I would welcome any information that could assist me.

Thank you
    Lee

There was a very simmilar thread a few months back, and a couple of plumbers already over there gave some feedback.

If you've actually paid for an immigration I'd expect them to be doing all this for you, no point in paying AND doing it yourself, although the general feeling is that in many cases you can just do it yourself (and not pay anyone).

Hello and welcome.

I think we may be the only current members who came as Skilled Migrants in the plumbing field. My OH is a Master (or Craftsman) Plumber, Drainlayer and Gasfitter from the US--who worked in plumbing for over 20 years (3rd generation plumber) and owned a large plumbing company (20+ plumbers) when we applied.

I will help you in any way that I can.