Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Independent Contractor implications? Overview?

Default Independent Contractor implications? Overview?

I was hoping one of the independent contractors on this forum would be willing to share with me an overview of the tax implications, filings, etc for the year.

Do you operate as a sole trader? Does the company you contract with withhold taxes? Do you file GST yourself? What do you file/when?

What about expenses? How liberal/strict are the deduction rules?

I am trying to get through the "official" reading but it is a bit difficult to figure out when/where to apply certain rules.

Do you hire an accountant or DIY?

I have a lot of US experience as a business manager/accountant and am competent to handle most of this stuff if I can just get a handle on it. And the best way to understand is if someone will relate some actual experience.

PLEASE PLEASE and Thank you!!!

Oh come on--someone here knows this info!!!

Pretty please with sugar on top??

Oh sorry GG, I'm absolutely hopeless when it comes to all things money.

I'm hoping to eventually set up my own music related business, and I was going to ask YOU for advice!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Arwen View Post
    Oh sorry GG, I'm absolutely hopeless when it comes to all things money.

I'm hoping to eventually set up my own music related business, and I was going to ask YOU for advice!!!
    Give me a bit of time and I will figure it out!! I should be ready for you in a couple months.

That's my girl.

I operate as sole trader and use the services of SBA , adverts on tv, to do my tax returns. It costs me $300 per year and is of course deductible.
    I claim for all manor of stuff for example, a %, cant remember exact figure, of house as an office, same % for electric, telephone, internet.

As most of my income is from my time I dont charge GST so dont have that hassle.