Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Uk Wireless router

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    75

    Default Uk Wireless router

    Hi,

    I have a Belkin wireless router (only 6 months old). Does anyone know if it will work in NZ?

    Thanks

    Phil

  2. #2
    Manks's Avatar
    Manks is offline Serial procrastinator and general busybody
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    UK->CT, USA->Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    1,853

    Default

    I think (but someone correct me if I'm wrong), the ability of the router to work depends upon the source of the internet.

    E.g. we brought an ADSL wireless router to the US with us but because our internet source is cable, it wasn't compatible, so we had to buy a router that was. I would imagine the same could be said of NZ as I think there are global industry standards (again, willing to stand corrected!).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    North Canterbury to UK
    Posts
    2,755

    Default

    We brought one over from the UK and it works fine here , was about a year old.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benandclare View Post
    We brought one over from the UK and it works fine here , was about a year old.
    great stuff, something else I hopefully dont need to replace then

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Nrth Wellington from Tadley UK
    Posts
    1,605

    Default

    Yep ours works fine here too

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK->Whangarei->Auckland
    Posts
    1,016

    Default

    it should work, but technically it should have a telepermit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    617

    Default

    Good Dilbert strip on the topic today

    http://dilbert.com/dyn/str_strip/000...7915.strip.gif

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    4,455

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flutterby View Post
    it should work, but technically it should have a telepermit.
    If it was a modem/router then yes it would, but AFAIK you don't need a telepermit for a router only. Certainly my NZ bought wireless router doesn't have a telepermit.

    Ian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Poole, UK to Chch, NZ
    Posts
    2,064

    Default

    I just found this thread while searching... does anyone know of a way to check whether a UK (or other) wireless router/modem will work in NZ? (short of bringing it over and plugging in? LOL)

    I ask because our old one died suddenly last week, so the newbie will only be in use for a month before we move in with my parents.. the plan was to eBay it, if it couldn't be used in NZ.

    Whaddayareckon???

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    918

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sophiedb View Post
    I just found this thread while searching... does anyone know of a way to check whether a UK (or other) wireless router/modem will work in NZ? (short of bringing it over and plugging in? LOL)

    I ask because our old one died suddenly last week, so the newbie will only be in use for a month before we move in with my parents.. the plan was to eBay it, if it couldn't be used in NZ.

    Whaddayareckon???
    People are confusing a router with a modem. Technically as long as you can set up the correct IP addresses on a router it will work. The LAN side or wireless side if it is wireless is your domian so nothing will change there. The WAN side will need to be set to whatever the broadband modem requires.

    The boradband modem can come in different typse;

    Wireless - 3G or W-CDMA
    Cable - if you have cable TV from Telstra
    ADSL
    ADSL 2+
    VDSL
    (Naked DSL comes in either ADSL or ADSL2+ but with no ascoaited telephone service)

    The most likely situation is that some people bring over ADSL modems and try to ge them to work on ADSL2+ lines.

    Depending on how your ISP set up your Internet account, you need one or more of these configuration parameters to connect your router to the Internet:
    Multiplexing Method
    Host and Domain Names
    ISP Login Name and Password
    ISP Domain Name Server (DNS) Addresses
    Fixed or Static IP Address
    Your ISP should have provided you with all the information needed to connect to the Internet. If you cannot locate this information, contact your ISP.

    Many devices are combined router/modems. Some let you configure the DSL and IP parameters through the GUI but some are locked down.

    Most ISP's will provide a DSL modem as part of the service. If you want to add a wireless router to this, you should be able to plug one of the LAN ports into one of the LAN ports of the wireless router.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •