Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CV Advice and such like..

Default CV Advice and such like..

So I have my CV, I know its a brilliant CV in terms of layout and content as after all I was a recruiting manager back in the UK...However, that was in the UK and as I have already discovered, there are just a few differences between the two countries and i'm suspecting that the job market/search is completely different too!

Any tips and advice would be much appreciated, whilst I could be considered an expert in England (apparently so anyway!), I have posted my CV on Seek and have had absolutely no response whatsoever.

My career for the last 7 years or so has been within sales, capital equipment, business services and most recently recruitment so nothing too technical like IT or Telco.

My CV begins with a short paragraph outlining my intentions of being in NZ and key attributes, then my schooling, then followed by listing some key records of achievements, such as major accounts won, values and any KPI's hit, as well as my managerial experience.
    From there I then run through the last 7 years or so work experience in bullet point format identifying my responsibilities, targets and achievements. All are in excess of 100% (which i can prove) so it shows no weak points.
    I finish off by bullet pointed other experience and achievements such as professional training and then by listing my hobbies and interests.

It is purposely kept to 2 pages as what that is what is expected/required in the UK. From looking at the first page you know immediately that your looking at the CV of someone with very good experience, who can win new business, retain existing accounts, set targets and over achieve them! What else could a potential employer want to see?