Thread: Picture of the Information Technology (IT) field

Default Picture of the Information Technology (IT) field

Hi,
    I am a java software developer. I expect that I will be job hunting in New Zealand at some point in the next 6 months. Everything depending on the immigration process.

I would like to know if any of you are in the field (developer, network, hardware ... anything computer really).

If so, what is the IT job market like? Where are the jobs located? What type of companies? Which company do you know which is great to work for? How did you find your current/previous jobs? Any information along those lines would be welcome.

Some people here hinted that the market was slowing down? Is it really so? I saw somewhere on the employment government agency (or something similar) that the employment rate slowed down generally in NZ. However, it seemed that the employment rate in IT did not slow down as much as the rest...

So! Anything you can tell me about the IT field will be very welcome.

There is a quite long old thread on this subject, which I can't immediately find (Search confuses 'IT' with 'it'!), but somebody may be able to give a link for you.

Thanks! I already searched for a few terms ... Information Technology, it, ict, computer ... and so on.
    No real luck. However, it would still be nice to have a current picture of the market. I will try to continue looking for the information on my own as well though.

Would this be the thread you meant JandM ?

Cheers,
    Silver

Yes - THANK YOU.

You're welcome ! It helped that I knew I had it somewhere in my 'Subscribed Threads' list !

Cheers,
    Silver