Thread: Moving Soon

Default Moving Soon

Hi All!

I am a young professional who has a job offer in Christchurch and will hopefully be arriving in New Zealand pretty soon. I have a few questions that you all will probably have the answers to.

1) Is there a company that you would recommend to meet and greet me at the airport? I would like a city orientation and a ride to my lodgings. Speaking of lodgings...

2) Is the Christchurch YMCA pretty safe? I've been living on my last paycheck from 2 months ago and doubt I can afford a deposit and first months rent on a new apartment until I get a paycheck from my new job and may have to stay there for 2-3 weeks.

3) What are some things I should pack extra of? I've read the "sanitary napkin" posts (sorry guys) but are there other things that I should bring in bulk?

I'd appreciate any info I can get!

Hello and welcome.

NZ will be waking up shortly, and I'm sure you'll get some answers then.

Hi Monagirl
    welcome and well done getting the job.
    I'm still in the UK and erm.. I'm a bloke so I'm not able to advise on either, but I'm sure some Christchurch folk will answer you

Best of luck

Thanks! I just received my Visa today and hope to be there next week. Decided to go ahead and book the YMCA but still looking for a good service to show me around town!

Quote Originally Posted by monagirl13 View Post
    Thanks! I just received my Visa today and hope to be there next week. Decided to go ahead and book the YMCA but still looking for a good service to show me around town!
    HI Mona,

There was a person advertising a room available for rent in Christchurch in the real estate forum, you should be able to find it in one of the latest few threads in that forum. I just had a quick look and the member is listed below:
    http://www.enz.org/forum/showpost.ph...91&postcount=3
    Last edited by Mav; 11th August 2010 at 01:42 PM.