Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sewing Machine - what to buy

Question Sewing Machine - what to buy

I'm thinking of buying a sewing machine & not sure where to start. I want it for general use (clothes, household stuff) but I'm only a beginner so am looking for advice on whats best to spend my money on - any particular features to look out for, brands to stay away from etc. Do I buy a cheaper machine & a seperate overlocker? Or should I buy a more expensive machine with an overlock function? Do I buy new or secondhand?

Any advice from the experienced sewing gurus out there, thanks?
    Last edited by lin; 6th September 2010 at 07:12 PM. Reason: 'sew-ers' just didn't look right, oops

The best thing to do is to go to a sewing shop and try some models out. I'd recommend a machine that has a good range of every day stitches, but you don't need loads of fancy stitches, adjustable stitch length and width, a good buttonhole function, variable speed, easy to thread, easy to wind bobbins, free arm sewing, snap-on presser feet, and comes with feet for different functions. Many cheaper models have an overlocking stitch, and some models come with an over-locking foot, which makes finishing seams pretty easy. I definitely wouldn't buy a separate overlocker - they're really expensive, and you don't really need one as you can finish the seams well without one.

I've got this machine: Brother BC2500. I love it, but they don't sell them any more, but it's worth looking out for ones on trademe. The Brother BM2600 will probably do all you need a machine to do - Sam B has just bought one, and I think you can find good deals on them in places like Spotlight and Bunnings. But, as I say, if you have a sewing shop near you, go and ask them to show you a few machines as they don't usually mind demonstrating them.