Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chances of a fresh business graduate landing a job?

Default Chances of a fresh business graduate landing a job?

Hi guys, I am trying to move to NZ and I am caught in the catch 22 situation right now.

If I can find a job, I would be able to get the points I need to make my skilled migrant application. If I can't land a job, my plan of emigrating to NZ goes up in smoke.

I have heard that it is relatively easy to find IT and engineering jobs; but I am a fresh business degree graduate. Do you think I can land myself a skilled business related job to secure that 50 points?

I am mainly interested in Human Resource positions but I will take any business related job that allows me to gain that 50 points.

I plan to fly over to New Zealand soon for interviews.

What are my chances of finding a skilled business related job like? Are employers really willing to wait three to six months for us to get our visa processed?
    Last edited by minnysian; 20th September 2010 at 02:40 AM.

bump can anyone help me out?

Sorry you haven't had any replies. I guess everyone finds it difficult to look into a crystal ball, and most people just go forward with hope.

I don't know anything to tell you about your prospects of finding a job. I can tell you, though, that it's true that NZ businesses recruiting a person they want from overseas do understand about having to have the immigrant paperwork processed, and will settle a start-date in the future to take account of that.

I wonder, have you looked at the possibilities of Silver Fern and/or WH visas? It is always easier to convince NZ employers to take a person seriously when they are right there in the country. I'm afraid many of them have suffered from overseas timewasters, and therefore tend to be cynical about approaches from overseas if the person hasn't made an investment of money or effort (shown by having started the visa process and/or got themselves to NZ to meet face to face).