Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To be an electrician in NZ Please Help

Default To be an electrician in NZ Please Help

Hello everyone

This is my first post on this forum it seems like a very helpful place.
    Me and my husband are looking to move to NZ in the next 12 months Hopefully .

I am a fully qualified electrician, Iv been reading so much information about registration that I don't know where I stand anymore.

Is there anyone that has been through this or going through it?

Any help would be great

Hello and welcome.

You can read in the ERWB website, which is the official NZ site, and, finally you will find the right information about how to register and be able to work in NZ as an electrician...

I hope it can help you.

Cheers,

Hello and welcome.

Hi & welcome,

As posted above, read the overseas section of the EWRB site.

You submit your quals and experience to them.
    They will assess them and tell you what you need to do to gain registration and a full practising licence.
    They will also tell you if they will grant you a provisional licence whilst you complete exams etc.

Depending on your quals etc. you usually need to do a practical assessment and also regs exam.
    You also need to complete a safe working, testing, first aid and CPR training course.
    This needs to be renewed every 2 years.

Hope this helps ,

Nick..

Hi manxspark,

You have to see if your qualification is on this list> http://www.ewrb.govt.nz/files/overseas.doc

In my case, my certification was not on the list, so the EWRB didn't recognized my qualifications. The immigration service said than, so you are not a tradesman on our list, so you're not on the Long Term Skill Shortage List. Have a pleasant stay in Holland.

Luckely I was able to proof that my certificates where more valuble than the ones on the EWRB overseas.doc. I had to send some letters of employers and a list of materials with which I had worked to the EWRB.