Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Teaching in New Zealand

Default Teaching in New Zealand

Just wondering if anyone can give me any advice on moving to New Zealand to teach.

I'm a primary school teacher based in the UK but wanting to move out to NZ for Term 1 2010. I've had my qualifications assessed and recently got my teacher registration through as well. I've just started to look for jobs, but does anyone know if schools are keen on interviewing over the phone. Does Scale A mean newly qualified teachers? I have 4 years teaching experience in the UK - can I apply for Scale A jobs?

Any advice much appreciated!

Hello and welcome.

You'll probably get comments when those in NZ come online later.

I got my job from a phone interview (started this January). Have heard of others being Skyped. Depends on the Head - some like to have a real person to look at! I'm in the private sector, so can't comment on the payscale bit (and I'm secondary)! Did you get provisional registration, or STC? That might make a difference - whether they want to "mentor" you - could cost them time/money.

Thanks for the responses. I've got provisional registration, but hoping that won't be too much of a hindrance!

Can I ask how long it took to get your visa/work permit after getting the job?

You might want to consider registering with a agency such as Education Personnel too for relief work and job searches etc.

http://www.edperson.co.nz

(I am assuming you know that jobs are advertised on the Education Gazette site.)

http://www.edgazette.govt.nz

Good luck with the job search.

Hi, I am a UK trained teacher with 2 years UK teaching experience. Scale A does not mean newly registered.