Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Social Workers?

Default Any Social Workers?

Hello, I've a bachelors degree in social psychology, I found on the internet that to be a social worker in NZ you only need a bachelors degree in one of the social sciences, and that you're not required to register until 6 months after being on the job...if then....is this correct? I've also noticed that the child protective worker positions are mainly on North Island....is things so backed up that they've just not gotten around to putting these workers in place on South Island? I've found like 4 positions on SI but all are in the northern tip of the island. One of the reasons I got this degree was to try and get into child protective services and help children escape abusive situations. Thanks in advance.

Hi

I am a social worker just recently arrived on north Island. I havent noticed that there arent positions in the south island as CYF appear to be throughout the country.
    I have registered with NZ social Work recruitment, Palmerston North who are really good at guiding you through the process and in applying for jobs etc.

Good luck

Bernie

Thanks Bernie, I'll look them up.

I emailed NZ Social Work Recruitment, since my degree isn't specifically a SW degree, they can't help me, but suggested a dept. that would, (for a fee), look at my degree to see if my degree would qualify me for a SW job.

Hi Tom

The bulk of the jobs are located near the bulk of the population - about 75%live on the North Island so that tends to be where the concentration is. At a guess, there is probably less turnover on the SI due to more limited job prospects so maybe that's a factor as well.

I'd be hesitant to pay someone for that kind of an assessment especially since the types of jobs in that field vary a lot. People are usually helpful and friendly here - you could try contacting CYF HR and ask them about your quals.