Thread: Architectural rant!

Default Architectural rant!

I'm currently planning to have some minor building work done on my house and need the services of an architect. Long and boring story but today the architect gave me the tendering contract she has drawn up. Now I am not a lawyer, far from it, but the document is a mess. She has done a 'save as' over someone else's document leaving odd bits in and half finished sentences that are not connected to my project.

A lot of it just doesn't make sense and she is trying to rush me into signing it! Luckily I asked to keep a copy to read over before signing and I am still reading it 3 hours later! Will definitely get a lawyer to look it over - it's so amateurish that if I would be stupid to sign it in its current state. It is, however, loosely based on NZS 3910:2003 (for those of you who know what I am talking about).

Jeez, is it cos I am a female, non-native New Zealander that she thinks I am stupid, or do you reckon this level of non-professionalism is common?

I have had to point out so many mistakes in her drawings along the way and the cheek of the woman is to charge me for her time and each new set of drawings despite the fact that she made the errors!!

Does anybody who has been through the building contract tendering process have any wise words of advice for me?

No help to offer, but just wanted to sympathize. ((()))

I hope you don't settle in dealing with 1 architect. I would be inclined to have 2 other architects to tender for your project just so that prices are in line.

Quote Originally Posted by Super_BQ View Post
    I hope you don't settle in dealing with 1 architect. I would be inclined to have 2 other architects to tender for your project just so that prices are in line.
    Sorry, I didn't make it very clear in my original post - It's not the architect tendering for the job - I have been paying her for the past 6 months!! It's now at the stage of getting builders to tender for the work.