Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: daylight hours

Default daylight hours

Having just had the shortest /longest day of the yr (depending on which side of the world your on), I was wandering if those of you lucky enough to currently be in NZ could give me an idea of the hours of daylight in your variouse different locations. Via the net I can find numerious charts for hours of sun shine and some very high tech shipping pages which ,if I could decifer them would give me the daylight hours for various places in NZ, but since I'm not that technical (to lazy to sit with a calculator and work it out) I thought I would ask you fine lot to stick your head out of your windows and say when it's light and when it gets dark. Thanks

Sunset 5.15 dark at 5.45pm, daylight at around 7.30am, so we are about 2.5 hours extra daylight to what we had in Scotland even on the shortest day.

Makes a difference if you are leaving for work in daylight instead of in the dark!

From todays Christchurch Press

Canterbury Plains and Coast - Sun rise 8.02, sun set 5.01

Nelson - Sun rise 7.53, sun set 5.05

Marlborough - Sun rise 7.51, sun set 5.02

Westland - Sun rise 8.05, sun set 5.09

I go to work in the light (leave at 7.15 am) I leave work in the light (just though this last week!) 5pm - it makes such a difference not to be plunged into darkness in the middle of the afternoon & not having to travel to work in the dark!

Thanks for the info, I quite like cold crisp days, I still find snow exciting and I don't even mine the rain but it does get me down when when you have to leave your house in the dark, return home in the dark and have to wait till the weekend to see your home in the day light. The UK way of life is dogged by marathon commutes to work and long dark winters.
    Here's to the possibility of change

Debbie

apparently I live in the land of the midnite sun! - I leave home in the dark about 0700hrs and leave work in the dark about 1930 hrs.