Thread: Working as a Solicitor in NZ

Default Working as a Solicitor in NZ

I work as a solicitor in Yorkshire in the area of Wills and Probate and am looking into the possibility of work in NZ with a view to permanent residency if all goes well.

I would qualify for the IEP Work Exchange Visa as I am 31 but would like to work, if not as a solicitor, at least as a paralegal before qualifying as a Solicitor in NZ.

Has anyone moved from the UK to NZ and works in this area? What are job opportunities and pay like? Will I have sufficient existing knowledge having practiced in England to enable me to get by advising clients in NZ?

Any help most appreciated!

I don't know any answers for you, but hello and welcome.

Thank you! So much to plough through! I'm throwing mud in every direction at the moment, having enlisted previous clients with links to NZ, friends and even the lady who owned the B&B we stayed at in Auckland last year, in the hope that something will stick!

My Dad's solicitor left the U.S. for NZ about 8 years ago. He was told that NZ did not want any solicitors so he had to invest money to get into the country!