Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Character Waiver Help!

Default Character Waiver Help!

Hi

My inlaws have finally got a CO (YAY!) but now the queries start (BOO!)

We need to apply for a character waiver for my FIL - he had two "dishonesty"convictions - one in 1965 & another 1967 - he is now 64!

Can anyone offer any advice who has previously gained character waivers, as to what we should put in the letter. He has stayed out of trouble since and was a businessman with his own business before he retired.

Help please!

I have no experience with character waivers but to me, I would outline what he has accomplished in the last 43 years!

Did he raise a good family? Was he gainfully employed? Solid marriage? Productive memeber of society? Excellent grandparent? Active in church and/or other community service type things? Boy Scouts, girl scouts, salvation army, meals on wheels etc.

From other people's threads (and a search will bring them up), he is going to need to write a grovelling letter, explaining the circumstances of the convictions, and how he afterwards came to see the error of his ways and became a different character. As Mickfin says, tell about all the good you can think of that he has done, and get letters from people of standing in the community to give him character references. Also, explain how he will be of benefit to your family in NZ, and outline all the good you can think of that YOU do in YOUR community, as you are asking to have the family reunited for your benefit, which is ultimately also NZ's benefit.

Do they charge you $$$$ for a character waiver??

I've never heard so, and there's no mention of it in the fees structure on the INZ site - you could ask them via their 'contact us' page.

Good luck! I hope something that happened 40 years ago wouldn't be a problem, but you never know!

Hi all,